Yorkshire Coast College celebrates staff excellence

Yorkshire Coast College celebrated the outstanding achievements and dedication shown by academic and business support staff at the annual Star Awards celebration.

Fifteen members of staff were presented with their trophies in front of friends, colleagues and local dignitaries including the Mayor of Scarborough Borough Council, Councillor Pat Marsburg and her Mayoress Hillary Groves.

Held at the Colleges successful training restaurant Fledglings, the celebration was hosted by Sian Harrison, Director of School for the service industries. Guests enjoyed a three-course meal prepared, cooked and served by Catering and Hospitality staff and learners including Welsh Rarebit beignets with Tomato Ragu, Roast Loin of Pork with Crispy Crackling, Prune and Apricot filling, served with Apple Sauce and Cider Jus and a magnificent Trio of Fledglings Deserts.

Guests also had the pleasure of listening to a performance from 18-year-old singer-songwriter and Yorkshire Coast College music learner, Maisie Atkinson who performed a number of personalized covers.

The awards were presented to members of Yorkshire Coast College staff that had excelled over the past year. YCC Principal, Clare Wareing, said: “Thank you to all staff who took the time to nominate colleagues, it is really important that we acknowledge and celebrate the many great successes at YCC and the Star Award winners deserved this gesture of thanks and recognition.”

Star Awards were presented to the following:

Award for Response to Learners’ Needs                                                      Functional Skills Team

Award for Our Learners & Customers Come First                               Ian Rollinson

Award for Excellence in Leadership                                                                Jo Ainsworth

Award for Working Together with Mutual Respect                            Apprenticeship Team

Award for the Unsung Heroes                                                                             Gemma Charters

Skills for Life Award                                                                                                     Karen Maw

Award for Workforce Development                                                              Neal Wardle

Award for Innovation                                                                                                Dave Marshall

Excellence in Learning Support                                                                          Learning Support Practitioners

Excellence in a Support Role                                                                                 Harriet Daniel

Excellence as a Teacher, Training and Learning Practitioner     Andy Black

Award for Response to Staff Needs                                                               Matt Smith

Award for Striving for Excellence                                                                   Richard Parsons

Award for Engaging Employers                                                                        Lynda Rowley

Lifetime Achievement Award                                                                            Debbie Hilton